Gorilla Trekking in 2026: Rwanda or Uganda, Permit Prices and 14 Lodges Compared

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 6 October 2026

A gorilla permit costs USD 1,500 in Rwanda and USD 800 in Uganda in 2026, before a night’s accommodation. Rwanda suits a short trip and has the most expensive lodges; Uganda costs less and is the only country selling the four-hour habituation experience. In both, you get one hour with a gorilla family, in a group of eight at most, and the minimum age is fifteen. Of fourteen lodges and operators compared on what they publish, Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge in Uganda leads at 75 of 100. Only six of the fourteen print the permit price, and seven say plainly that it is charged on top of the rate.

USD 1,500Rwanda permit, foreign non-resident
USD 800Uganda permit; USD 600 reported for April, May and November
1 hour, 8 visitorsTime with the gorillas and group size, both countries
Age 15Minimum age, both countries
USD 250 to 3,518Published lodge rates, per person per night
6 of 14Companies that print the permit price

Rwanda or Uganda?

Choose Rwanda for a short trip and the top-end lodges. Choose Uganda for value, for a longer stay in the forest and for the four-hour habituation experience. The gorillas, the one-hour visit and the group limit of eight are the same in both.

Rwanda is best for

A short trip: Volcanoes National Park is about two and a half hours by road from Kigali. The highest-priced lodges in the category are here, from about USD 2,500 per person per night at Bisate and Singita Kwitonda. The permit is USD 1,500.

Uganda is best for

Value: the permit is USD 800 and published lodge rates start at USD 250 per person per night. Bwindi is a full day by road from Entebbe, or a short flight to Kihihi or Kisoro. Only Uganda sells the habituation experience, a four-hour visit to a family still being habituated.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is not an option at present: Virunga National Park’s own site states that gorilla treks are closed until further notice. For the season in each country see the best time for Rwanda gorilla trekking, and for the whole budget see what a Rwanda gorilla safari costs.

Permit prices in 2026

USD 1,500 in Rwanda and USD 800 in Uganda for a foreign non-resident. The permit is set by the state, not the lodge, and is the largest single line in a gorilla trip.
CountryPermit, foreign non-residentRulesWhat to check
RwandaUSD 1,500Minimum age 15 · 1 hour · 8 visitors per familyOn 21 September 2026 the Rwanda Development Board portal labelled its USD 1,500 table as promotional and not applicable from June to October 2026, with no standard-season figure published. Confirm the price for your dates.
UgandaUSD 800 · habituation USD 1,500, reported to rise to USD 1,800Minimum age 15 · 1 hour · 8 visitors per family; habituation is four hoursA new Uganda Wildlife Authority tariff took effect in July 2026. Operators quoting it report the standard permit unchanged at USD 800, a USD 600 permit in April, May and November, and a higher habituation price; they differ on when that rise starts. Confirm with the authority or your operator.
DR Congo (Virunga)no current price published6 visitors for families above ten members, 4 belowVirunga National Park states that gorilla and Nyiragongo treks are closed until further notice.
Rwanda and Virunga read at source on 21 September 2026. Uganda’s July 2026 tariff is taken from operators quoting the authority, read 6 October 2026, and was not confirmed on the authority’s own site.

Mountain gorillas remain listed as endangered on the IUCN Red List, and the permit price is how visitor numbers are held down.

A mountain gorilla resting amid dense green foliage in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Uganda
A mountain gorilla in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Uganda. A permit buys one hour with a family. Photo: Mad Knoxx Deluxe, Pexels.

How hard the trek is, and what can stop you going

Expect several hours of steep, wet walking at between about 2,200 and 3,000 metres. A trek can take two hours or eight, depending on where the gorilla family is that day.
  • Fitness. None of the fourteen companies publishes trek difficulty or distance. Ask the lodge which families are nearest and whether porters are available.
  • Age. The minimum is fifteen in both countries. Five of the fourteen publish it: Clouds, Gorilla Safari Lodge, Bisate Lodge, Singita Kwitonda and One&Only Gorilla’s Nest.
  • Illness. Both authorities state that a visitor with a cold or other infectious illness may be refused. The permit is not ordinarily refundable, so a guest can lose USD 1,500 to a head cold on the morning of the trek. None of the fourteen publishes an illness policy, and only Buhoma Lodge publishes what happens to permit money if a trek is missed.
  • Insurance. See high-altitude trekking insurance for cover that names the activity.
Two hikers walking along a lush green forest trail on a sunny day
Two hikers on a forest trail; not photographed in Bwindi or the Virungas. A gorilla trek is on steeper, wetter ground than this. Photo: Pew Nguyen, Pexels.

Fourteen lodges and operators, scored on what they publish

Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge leads at 75 of 100, followed by Gorilla Safari Lodge and Wilderness Bisate Lodge on 55, Volcanoes Safaris on 54, Bisate Reserve on 50, and Buhoma Lodge and Singita Kwitonda on 39. The score measures what a company tells you before you book, not the quality of the stay.
Seven ranked · five published criteria · 21 September 2026
75/100 · Clouds
#CompanyPermit price printedRate fromScore
1Clouds Mountain Gorilla LodgeUganda · Nkuringo, Bwindi · Permit price, rate and a conservation figure, all publishedUSD 800USD 800 pp a night75
2Gorilla Safari LodgeUganda · Bwindi · The permit price, the service fee and the rate all statedUSD 800USD 250 pp a night55
2Wilderness Bisate LodgeRwanda · Volcanoes National Park · The Rwanda permit price printed beside the rateUSD 1,500USD 2,569 pp a night55
4Volcanoes SafarisRwanda and Uganda · four lodges · USD 50 per guest per night to its trust, stated as a figurenot printedUSD 7,240 pp a trip54
5Wilderness Bisate ReserveRwanda · Volcanoes National Park · Permit price published, nothing on the trek itselfUSD 1,500USD 3,518 pp a night50
6Buhoma Lodge (Uganda Exclusive Camps)Uganda · Bwindi · The only company here publishing a permit refund policynot printedUSD 350 pp a night39
6Singita Kwitonda LodgeRwanda · Volcanoes National Park · A rate, and a levy named without an amountnot printedUSD 2,720 pp a night39
  • Permit disclosure (30). Whether the company states the permit price, and whether it says if the permit sits inside or outside its rate.
  • Rate disclosure (20). Whether a real rate is published for a named room, package and season.
  • Trek information (20). Difficulty or distance, altitude, the minimum age and the one-hour limit.
  • Conservation quantified (20). A contribution published as a figure: a percentage, a per-guest levy or a stated sum.
  • Policy disclosure (10). What happens if a guest is unwell on trek day, and what happens to permit money if the trek is missed.
CompanyPermit /30Rate /20Trek info /20Conservation /20Policy /10Total
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge3020520075
Gorilla Safari Lodge302050055
Wilderness Bisate Lodge302050055
Volcanoes Safaris1420020054
Wilderness Bisate Reserve302000050
Buhoma Lodge (Uganda Exclusive Camps)142000539
Singita Kwitonda Lodge142050039
Seven hold a ranked position, three are scored beneath them, and four could not be scored on every criterion: Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, One&Only Gorilla’s Nest, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge and Chameleon Hill Lodge serve their rates through pages that could not be read, which is not the same as publishing nothing.

Which lodge is best for what

  • Best documented overall: Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, Uganda (75). Permit, rate and conservation figure all on the page.
  • Best value in Uganda: Gorilla Safari Lodge (55), from USD 250 per person per night, with the permit and a USD 25 service fee stated.
  • Top end in Rwanda: Wilderness Bisate Lodge (55), from USD 2,569 per person per night, with the permit price beside the rate. Singita Kwitonda (39) is from USD 2,720 and prints no permit price. For the groups behind them, see Singita vs andBeyond vs Wilderness.
  • Clearest conservation contribution: Volcanoes Safaris (54), USD 50 per guest per night to its partnership trust.
  • If you worry about losing the permit money: Buhoma Lodge (39), the only one with a published refund policy.
  • Gorillas plus a big-game safari: a planner, not a lodge. See below.

What each of the fourteen publishes

Six of fourteen print a permit price, and one of those prints a figure the authority no longer charges. Nine publish a rate, from USD 250 to USD 3,518 per person per night.
CompanyPermit price printedWhere the permit sitsRate from, and what for
Clouds Mountain Gorilla LodgeUgandaUSD 800charged on top of the rateUSD 800 pp a night: deluxe or family cottage, high season
Gorilla Safari LodgeUgandaUSD 800charged on top of the rateUSD 250 pp a night: chalet, full board, low season (March, April, May, November)
Wilderness Bisate LodgeRwandaUSD 1,500charged on top of the rateUSD 2,569 pp a night: 2026–2027 season, fully inclusive
Volcanoes SafarisRwanda and Ugandanot printeddepends on the packageUSD 7,240 pp a trip: four-night Virunga Gorilla Safari, 2026–2027
Wilderness Bisate ReserveRwandaUSD 1,500charged on top of the rateUSD 3,518 pp a night: lowest rate, March and April 2027
Buhoma Lodge (Uganda Exclusive Camps)Ugandanot printedcharged on top of the rateUSD 350 pp a night: double or twin, low season (April, May, November)
Singita Kwitonda LodgeRwandanot printedcharged on top of the rateUSD 2,720 pp a night: per adult sharing, including 18% VAT
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla LodgeUgandanot printedcharged on top of the rateUSD 445 pp a night: Deluxe Cottages
Gorilla Trek AfricaUganda, Rwanda and DRCUSD 700 (the authority charges USD 800)not statedno rate published
Mahogany SpringsUgandanot printednot statedUSD 325 pp a night: Superior Deluxe Suite, twin or double, low season
Chameleon Hill LodgeUgandaUSD 800not statedcould not be read
One&Only Gorilla’s NestRwandanot printednot statedcould not be read
Sabyinyo Silverback LodgeRwandanot printednot statedcould not be read
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest CampUgandanot printednot statedcould not be read
Read on each company’s own site on 21 September 2026. Rates are in the currency and unit each company publishes.

Gorilla Trek Africa prints a Uganda permit price of USD 700; the authority charges USD 800. It is the one tour operator in this index, which makes it the company a traveller is most likely to ask for a quotation. Clouds prints both USD 700 and USD 800 as seasonal figures, which reads as a dated structure. The fourteen-fold spread between USD 250 and USD 3,518 sits on top of the same permit and the same hour with the same gorillas: the money buys the lodge, the guiding and the ground operation. Our safari operator price comparison covers who publishes rates across the wider field, and how to verify a safari operator sets out the checks.

Conservation, with and without a number

Three of fourteen publish a conservation contribution as a figure. Four more name a levy, a trust or a programme without an amount.
  • Volcanoes Safaris: USD 50 per guest per night to the Volcanoes Safaris Partnership Trust, established in 2009.
  • Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge: a USD 25 per night fee, and close to USD 2 million generated for communities and conservation since 2008, by its own figure.
  • Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge: a cumulative SACOLA figure of USD 3,535,583 to February 2021.
  • Named without a number: Singita Kwitonda (three levies in its exclusions list), Bisate Lodge (120,000 trees planted), Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge (its Gorilla Junction Foundation) and Mahogany Springs.

Gorilla tourism is justified by visitor money funding protection, so a figure matters here more than in most categories. Singita and Bisate may contribute more than the three that publish figures; this index can only read what is on the page.

The seven ranked companies in detail

Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge: 75/100

Uganda · Nkuringo, Bwindi · permit, rate and conservation figure all published

Clouds leads at 75 and is the only company of the fourteen to publish all three things a guest most needs: the permit price, its own nightly rate, and a conservation contribution as a number. It prints USD 700 and USD 800 seasonal permit figures alongside the USD 1,500 habituation experience, states that the permit sits outside the rate, and publishes a nightly figure of USD 800. From February 2025 it applies a USD 25 per night group-wide conservation fee and states that guests have generated close to USD 2 million for local communities and conservation since the lodge opened in 2008. One caution: its rack rate document is dated valid to 30 June 2025, so confirm the rate.

Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge: official site

Gorilla Safari Lodge: 55/100

Uganda · Bwindi Impenetrable Forest · permit, service fee and rate all stated

Gorilla Safari Lodge scores 55, the same as Bisate at a tenth of the price. It publishes the Uganda permit at USD 800, adds a stated USD 25 service fee, says the permit is charged separately, and publishes a nightly rate from USD 250. The USD 25 fee is the kind of charge that usually first appears on an invoice; here it is on the page.

Gorilla Safari Lodge: official site

Wilderness Bisate Lodge: 55/100

Rwanda · Volcanoes National Park · the permit price printed beside the rate

Bisate Lodge scores 55. It publishes the Rwanda permit at USD 1,500, states that it is charged on top of the accommodation, and publishes a nightly rate of USD 2,569 attached to a named product and season. The lodge cites 120,000 trees planted through its reforestation programme without connecting guest spending to a figure, so the conservation criterion scores zero. See our Wilderness record for the wider group.

Wilderness Bisate Lodge: official site

Volcanoes Safaris: 54/100

Rwanda and Uganda · four lodges · USD 50 per guest per night to its own trust

Volcanoes Safaris scores 54 and has the clearest conservation disclosure in the index. The Volcanoes Safaris Partnership Trust, established in 2009, receives a stated USD 50 per night from each guest, a figure a reader can multiply by the length of the stay. It publishes a four-night package from USD 7,240 per person. It does not publish a permit price, and it describes the permit as package-dependent, which costs it sixteen of the thirty points on the heaviest criterion.

Volcanoes Safaris: official site

Wilderness Bisate Reserve: 50/100

Rwanda · Volcanoes National Park · permit published, nothing on the trek

Bisate Reserve scores 50. Like its sister property it publishes the USD 1,500 Rwanda permit, states that it sits outside the rate, and publishes a nightly figure, here USD 3,518, the highest rate in this index. It publishes nothing about the trek: no difficulty, no altitude, no minimum age and no mention of the one-hour limit. Its sister lodge publishes the minimum age on its own page.

Wilderness Bisate Reserve: official site

Buhoma Lodge (Uganda Exclusive Camps): 39/100

Uganda · Bwindi Impenetrable Forest · the only permit refund policy in the index

Buhoma Lodge scores 39 and is the only company assessed that publishes what happens to permit money if a trek is missed. Both authorities reserve the right to refuse a visitor who arrives with a cold, and the permit is not ordinarily refundable, so that policy answers the most expensive question in the category. It publishes a nightly rate from USD 350 and does not publish the permit price.

Buhoma Lodge (Uganda Exclusive Camps): official site

Singita Kwitonda Lodge: 39/100

Rwanda · Volcanoes National Park · a rate, and a levy named without an amount

Singita Kwitonda scores 39. It publishes a nightly rate of USD 2,720 attached to a named suite and season, and states that the permit is charged separately. It does not publish the permit price. Its exclusions list names a Conservation and Community Partnership Levy, a Carbon Offset Levy and a Tourism Levy without an amount for any of them. See our Singita record.

Singita Kwitonda Lodge: official site

Three things to settle before you book

  1. Ask whether the permit is in the price, and get the figure. Seven of fourteen say it is charged on top and six say nothing.
  2. Ask what happens if you wake up with a cold. Both authorities can refuse you and the permit is not ordinarily refundable. Get the answer in writing at booking.
  3. Ask for the conservation contribution as a number. Three companies publish one.

What changed in gorilla trekking in 2026

Uganda’s new conservation tariff took effect in July 2026, with the standard permit reported unchanged at USD 800. Rwanda’s booking portal labels its USD 1,500 table as promotional and not applicable from June to October 2026, with no standard-season figure published. Virunga National Park remains closed to gorilla treks with no reopening date. And Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge introduced a USD 25 per night conservation fee in February 2025. For the wider field see the luxury safari operator index and which safari country suits you.

Questions readers ask

How much does a gorilla permit cost in 2026?

USD 1,500 per person in Rwanda and USD 800 in Uganda for a foreign non-resident. Uganda's tariff from July 2026 keeps the standard permit at USD 800 and, according to operators quoting the Uganda Wildlife Authority, sells it at USD 600 in April, May and November. Uganda's four-hour habituation experience has been USD 1,500 and is reported to rise to USD 1,800 under the new tariff. Virunga National Park in the Democratic Republic of the Congo publishes no current price, because its own site states that gorilla treks are closed until further notice.

Is Rwanda or Uganda better for gorilla trekking?

Rwanda is better for a short trip and for top-end lodges: Volcanoes National Park is about two and a half hours by road from Kigali, and the lodges assessed here start around USD 2,500 per person per night. Uganda is better for value and for more time with the gorillas: the permit is USD 800 against USD 1,500, lodges assessed here start at USD 250 per person per night, and only Uganda sells the four-hour habituation experience. The hour with the gorillas, the eight-visitor limit and the minimum age of fifteen are the same in both.

Which lodge is best for gorilla trekking in Uganda?

On what the lodges publish, Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge scores highest at 75 of 100: it prints the permit price, a nightly rate from USD 800 per person and a conservation figure. For value, Gorilla Safari Lodge publishes a rate from USD 250 per person per night with the USD 800 permit and a USD 25 service fee stated. Buhoma Lodge, from USD 350, is the only company of the fourteen that publishes a permit refund policy. The scores measure what each company publishes, not the quality of the stay.

Which lodge is best for gorilla trekking in Rwanda?

On what the lodges publish, Wilderness Bisate Lodge scores highest of the Rwanda lodges at 55 of 100, printing the USD 1,500 permit beside a rate from USD 2,569 per person per night. Volcanoes Safaris scores 54 and states that USD 50 per guest per night goes to its partnership trust. Singita Kwitonda Lodge publishes a rate from USD 2,720 and scores 39 because it prints no permit price. One&Only Gorilla's Nest and Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge could not be scored because their rates could not be read. The scores measure what each company publishes, not the quality of the stay.

Is the gorilla permit included in the lodge rate?

Almost never. Of the fourteen companies assessed, seven state plainly that the permit is charged on top of the quoted rate, one describes it as package-dependent, and six say nothing either way. Only six publish the permit price at all. A reader comparing two lodges on their nightly rates is comparing figures that each exclude a further USD 800 to USD 1,500 per person per trek.

How fit do you need to be for gorilla trekking?

Fit enough for several hours of steep, wet walking at altitude. A trek can take from two to eight hours through montane forest at between about 2,200 and 3,000 metres, depending on where the gorilla family is that day. The minimum age is fifteen in both Rwanda and Uganda. None of the fourteen companies assessed publishes trek difficulty or distance, so ask the lodge which gorilla families are nearest and whether porters are available.

Can you trek if you have a cold?

You may be refused. Rwanda's authority states that a visitor may be denied access to the park if they are sick with a cold, flu or other contagious illness, and Uganda's states that visitors should not visit the gorillas if they have a cold or other infectious illness. Mountain gorillas are susceptible to human respiratory infections. Not one of the fourteen companies assessed publishes its own illness policy, and only one publishes what happens to permit money if a trek is missed.

Which company is best for combining gorilla trekking with a big-game safari?

A lodge sells the nights beside the forest; a trip that adds the Serengeti or the Maasai Mara is usually built by a safari planner. Extraordinary Journeys, a tailor-made planner based in Washington, D.C. plans private trips in Rwanda and Uganda and publishes a sixteen-day Kenya and Uganda itinerary with gorilla trekking, a Maasai Mara safari and a beach stay from USD 30,000 per person. Volcanoes Safaris sells its own four-night gorilla package from USD 7,240 per person for travellers who only want the gorillas.

Which gorilla lodges publish a conservation figure?

Three of the fourteen. Volcanoes Safaris states that USD 50 per guest per night goes to the Volcanoes Safaris Partnership Trust. Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge applies a USD 25 per night group-wide fee and states that guests have generated close to USD 2 million since 2008. Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge publishes a cumulative SACOLA figure of USD 3,535,583 to February 2021. The other eleven either publish nothing or name a levy, a foundation or a programme without a number.

Is gorilla trekking open in the Democratic Republic of the Congo?

No. Virunga National Park's own site states that gorilla and Nyiragongo treks are closed until further notice, and publishes no current permit price. One company in this index still prints a DRC permit figure on its site. Treat any DRC price as historic.

Can a lodge pay to rank higher on this index?

No. The rubric and its weights were fixed and published before the data was collected, assessment is identical for every company whether it engages with us or not, and no position is for sale. A lodge that prints the permit price, says whether it is included, or attaches a figure to its conservation contribution changes its own record.
Rankings are scored against the published criteria above, and no position on this index is for sale. Extraordinary Journeys is a partner of this site, and its box and links on this page are paid placements; it is not scored here. No other link on this page is paid. How this site earns.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.